KOHO Review 2026: Fees, Credit Building, Real Value
3.8/ 5
What KOHO is
KOHO is a Canadian prepaid card and spending account. You load money onto it, then spend from that balance. It is not a bank. Deposits sit with a partner institution, and the card runs on a prepaid rail rather than a chequing account rail. The company describes itself as a neobank with a cashback prepaid card, budgeting tools, credit building, and high-interest savings, and says it has 500K+ users.
The product is aimed at people who want a spending account without monthly bank fees, want cashback on everyday purchases, or want a way to build credit history without taking on a credit card. The credit building piece is the part most people arrive for. The cashback is the part most people stay for. They are separate products bundled into one app, and the pricing tiers treat them differently. That split is the whole review.
KOHO is not a full bank replacement for everyone. There is no branch, no teller, no mortgage desk. If you need a certified cheque same-day or a safety deposit box, this is not that. If you want a low-cost spending account with a card and an app, it is in the conversation.
Plan tiers and pricing in 2026
KOHO runs a tiered model. The entry tier is free. Paid tiers add cashback rate, extra perks, and in some cases credit building features. The company lists its current monthly fees and cashback rates on its pricing page, and those numbers change, so check the provider's current schedule before you commit. I am not going to quote a monthly fee here because the published figures move and the verified data I am working from does not lock them down.
What I can describe is the structure. Each tier has a monthly fee, a cashback rate, and a set of perks. The question for any tier is break-even: how much do you have to spend in a month for the cashback to cover the fee? That math is simple. Take the monthly fee, divide by the cashback rate, and you get the monthly spend where the tier pays for itself. If the fee is higher than the cashback you earn, you are paying for perks, not rewards.
Here is how to think about each tier without me inventing numbers:
- Free tier. No monthly fee. Cashback is limited or absent depending on the current schedule. Good for people who want the card and app without a subscription. Credit building may not be included, or may be included at a reduced level. Check the schedule.
- Essential tier. Low monthly fee. Adds a cashback rate on everyday spending. The break-even spend is usually modest, so this tier can pay for itself if you use the card as your main spending card.
- Extra tier. Higher monthly fee. Higher cashback rate, plus perks like extra partner offers or higher savings interest. Break-even spend is higher. This tier only makes sense if your monthly spend is consistently above the break-even point.
- Pro tier. Highest monthly fee. Highest cashback rate and the fullest perk set. This is for heavy spenders or people who want every feature. If your spend is low, the fee eats the rewards.
The trap with tiered cashback products is paying for a tier you do not spend enough to justify. If you spend a few hundred dollars a month, a free or low tier is usually the right call. If you spend several thousand, the higher tiers can clear their fee. Run the break-even math with the provider's current rates before you upgrade.
One more thing: cashback rates often apply to specific categories or partners, not all spending. A headline rate is not the same as an effective rate. I cover that below.
Cashback that actually clears
KOHO cashback comes in two flavours: partner offers and everyday spending. Partner offers are the higher rates. They apply at specific merchants, often for a limited time, and often require you to activate the offer in the app before you spend. Everyday cashback is the lower rate that applies to regular purchases, subject to category exclusions.
Category exclusions matter. Prepaid cards commonly exclude things like cash advances, ATM withdrawals, money transfers, and sometimes bill payments or recurring subscriptions. If a big chunk of your spending falls into an excluded category, your effective cashback rate is lower than the headline. Read the terms on the provider's site to see what counts.
Payout schedule is the other thing people miss. Some products pay cashback monthly, some quarterly, some only when you hit a threshold. If the payout is monthly and automatic, the cashback is real money you can spend. If it is quarterly or threshold-based, you may wait longer or need to keep spending to unlock it. The provider's disclosures state the payout terms; check them.
Worked example without inventing rates: suppose a tier charges a monthly fee and pays a cashback rate on everyday spending. Your annual cashback is your annual eligible spend multiplied by the rate. Your annual cost is the monthly fee multiplied by twelve. If annual cashback is bigger than annual cost, the tier is net positive before perks. If it is smaller, you are paying for the tier. Do this with the provider's current numbers, not with a rate you saw in an old review.
Partner offers can swing the math, but they are not reliable income. They come and go. Treat them as a bonus, not a baseline. The baseline is the everyday rate on eligible spending.
Credit building: how it works and what to expect
KOHO's credit building product is the reason a lot of people open the app. The mechanics, as the provider describes them, are straightforward: you make a security deposit, the deposit is reported to a credit bureau as a secured tradeline, and on-time payments build payment history. The deposit is your own money held as collateral. You are not borrowing. You are building a record.
Which bureau gets the report matters. In Canada, the two main bureaus are Equifax and TransUnion. A tradeline reported to one bureau does not automatically appear at the other. If you are trying to build credit for a specific lender, check which bureau that lender pulls. The provider's disclosures should say which bureau it reports to; if they do not, ask support before you deposit.
Timing is the part people get wrong. A new tradeline does not show up the day you open it. Reporting usually happens on a monthly cycle, and the bureau then takes time to update your file. Expect weeks, not days, before you see anything. Score impact is also not instant. Payment history builds over months. A single month of on-time payment is a small positive. Twelve months is a pattern. If you are rebuilding after a derogatory mark, the mark itself does not disappear because you opened a secured product; you are adding positive history alongside it.
Common reporting failures to watch for:
- Deposit not reported. If the deposit is not reported as a tradeline, there is nothing to build. Confirm the reporting arrangement before you deposit.
- Late or missed reporting cycles. If the provider misses a reporting cycle, your file shows a gap. Gaps do not help.
- Bureau mismatch. You are watching Equifax but the tradeline is at TransUnion, or the reverse. You will think nothing is happening when something is.
- Closed account, closed tradeline. If you close the product, the tradeline closes too. Length of history matters, so closing early can undo some of the benefit.
- Deposit refund timing. When you close, the deposit comes back on the provider's schedule, not instantly. Plan around that.
What to expect in results: a secured tradeline with consistent on-time payments is a legitimate way to add payment history. It is not a shortcut to a high score. If your file is thin, it can help. If your file has serious derogatory marks, it adds positive history but does not erase the marks. Anyone promising fast score jumps is overselling.
App, card controls, and everyday use
The app is the product. KOHO's app handles instant notifications, spending categories, vaults or goals, direct deposit, and bill pay. The card controls let you freeze the card, set limits, and manage where the card works. These are table stakes for a neobank in 2026, and KOHO has them.
Instant notifications are the feature that changes behaviour most. You see a charge the moment it happens. That is useful for catching fraud and for staying aware of your balance. Vaults or goals let you set money aside inside the account. If you are the kind of person who spends whatever is in the main balance, vaults help.
Direct deposit is where the product becomes a spending account rather than a prepaid card. If your paycheque lands in KOHO, you can pay bills from it and use it as your main account. If it does not, you are topping up manually, which is fine but adds friction. Check whether your employer's payroll supports the deposit details the provider gives you.
ATM and foreign exchange fees are the two places prepaid cards often cost more than people expect. ATM withdrawals may carry a fee from the provider plus a fee from the ATM operator. Foreign transactions may carry a conversion markup. The provider's fee schedule lists these; read it before you travel or pull cash. I am not quoting figures here because the verified data I have does not include them.
Bill pay support varies by provider. If paying bills from the account matters to you, confirm the payees you need are supported before you move your direct deposit.
Support, reliability, and user complaints
Support channels for neobanks typically include in-app chat, email, and sometimes phone. Response times vary. The provider's site states which channels it offers; check before you rely on one.
The complaint pattern for prepaid and neobank products in Canada is consistent across the category: account freezes, delayed deposits, and disputes that take longer than expected. KOHO is not unique here. Freezes usually happen when a transaction pattern trips a fraud rule. Delayed deposits usually happen when a load or transfer is held for review. Disputes on prepaid cards can be slower than on credit cards because the money has already left your balance.
What to do about it: keep records. Screenshot transactions. Save chat transcripts. If a dispute drags, escalate in writing. The provider's terms state the dispute process and timelines; read them so you know what to expect.
Reliability is hard to judge from the outside. App Store and Google Play ratings and recent reviews give a sense of the current experience, but review scores skew toward people with strong opinions. Reddit threads on r/PersonalFinanceCanada and r/KOHO are useful for spotting recurring issues, but they are anecdotes, not data. Read them for patterns, not for verdicts.
KOHO vs alternatives
The Canadian neobank and spending account market has a few obvious comparisons. Here is how they differ in structure, without inventing fee figures.
- Neo Financial. Also a Canadian neobank with a card, cashback, and credit building. Tiered pricing similar in shape. The differences are in partner offers, cashback categories, and which bureau the credit building reports to. Compare the current schedules side by side.
- Wealthsimple Cash. A spending account from a wealth management platform. Cashback structure and interest differ from KOHO. If you already use Wealthsimple for investing, the integration is the draw. See our Wealthsimple tool page for the current feature set.
- EQ Bank. A schedule bank with high-interest savings and no monthly fee on its core account. It is a bank, not a prepaid card, so the credit building product is different. If savings interest is your priority, EQ is in the conversation.
- Traditional bank accounts. Full service, branches, and monthly fees that are often higher than neobank tiers. You get services neobanks do not offer. You pay for them.
The comparison that matters most is KOHO vs Neo Financial, because they compete for the same user. Both sell cashback and credit building. The right pick depends on which partner offers you actually use and which bureau you need reporting to. Neither is universally better.
For a broader look at spending and budgeting tools, see our best budgeting apps 2026 roundup. For how we assess products, see our methodology page.
Verdict: score by category
Scoring KOHO as one number hides the split that matters. Here is how it looks by category.
- Fees. Tiered model with a free entry point. Paid tiers only make sense above their break-even spend. The free tier is genuinely free; the paid tiers are a spend-dependent decision. Check the provider's current schedule for the numbers.
- Rewards. Partner offers are the headline, everyday cashback is the baseline. Effective rate depends on how much of your spending is eligible. Category exclusions and payout schedule determine whether the cashback is real money or a slow accrual.
- Credit building. A secured tradeline reported to a bureau is a legitimate way to build payment history. It is not fast, and it does not erase derogatory marks. Confirm the bureau and the reporting arrangement before you deposit.
- App. Instant notifications, vaults, card controls, direct deposit, and bill pay are all present. The app is the product, and it is competitive for the category.
- Support. Channels exist, but the category-wide complaint pattern of freezes and slow disputes applies. Keep records and read the terms.
Best fit: someone who wants a low-cost spending account with a card and app, spends enough to justify a paid tier, and wants to add payment history with a secured tradeline. Worst fit: someone who needs branch banking, someone who spends too little to clear a paid tier's fee, and someone expecting a fast credit score jump.
KOHO is two products in one app. Price the cashback tier against your actual eligible spend, and price the credit building against the bureau you need and the time you are willing to wait. Do that with the provider's current numbers, and the decision is clearer than the marketing makes it.
How this review was researched
This review is based on KOHO's official site, its published fee schedule and disclosures, and publicly available app store listings and community discussions. I did not sign up for, fund, or use the app. Fee figures and cashback rates change; check the provider's current schedule before making a decision.
What works
- Free entry tier with no monthly fee
- Credit building via a secured tradeline reported to a bureau
- App includes instant notifications, vaults, card controls, direct deposit, and bill pay
- Partner cashback offers can add meaningful value for regular users
- Canadian product with 500K+ users per the provider
What doesn't
- Paid tiers only pay off above their break-even spend
- Cashback category exclusions and payout schedule reduce effective rate
- Credit building is slow and does not erase derogatory marks
- Category-wide complaint pattern of account freezes and slow disputes
The verdict
KOHO is a solid low-cost spending account with a card and app, and its credit building product is a legitimate way to add payment history. The catch is that the paid tiers only make sense if your eligible spend clears the break-even point, and the credit building is slow. Price both against the provider's current schedule before you commit.
FAQ
- Does KOHO build credit?
- KOHO offers a credit building product that works through a security deposit reported as a secured tradeline to a credit bureau. On-time payments build payment history over months. It does not erase derogatory marks, and score impact is not instant. Check the provider's disclosures for which bureau it reports to and the deposit terms.
- Is KOHO free?
- KOHO has a free entry tier with no monthly fee. Paid tiers add cashback rate and perks for a monthly fee. Whether a paid tier is worth it depends on your eligible monthly spend versus the fee. Check the provider's current pricing page for the exact figures.
- How does KOHO compare to Neo Financial?
- Both are Canadian neobanks with cashback cards and credit building. The differences are in partner offers, cashback categories, tier pricing, and which bureau the credit building reports to. Compare the current fee schedules side by side for your own spending pattern.
Keep reading
- ZelleproductivityOct 14, 2026
Zelle Review 2026: Instant Bank Transfers, by Bank
Zelle is a bank-network rail, not a standalone app, and it does the one thing it was built for well: moving money between bank accounts in minutes with no network fee for personal sends. Its limits, holds, and fraud outcomes are set by your bank, so the experience varies more by institution than by anything Zelle controls. It is the wrong tool for paying unverified counterparties or for anyone who needs a path to reverse a payment.
3.8/ 5 - Ally BankproductivityOct 13, 2026
Ally Bank Review 2026: High-Yield Savings Examined
Ally is a strong online-only bank for savers who never touch cash and want a competitive variable rate with a clean fee structure. It falls down on cash deposits, support hours, and the lack of a branch for complex problems. If those do not apply to you, it is one of the better online banks to compare against the field.
4.2/ 5 - RemitlyproductivityOct 12, 2026
Remitly Review 2026: Fees, Rates, Speed
Remitly is a solid pick for fast transfers, especially to corridors where cash pickup or mobile wallet payout matters, and Express delivers on the speed promise. For cost-sensitive sends, price Economy against Wise on the recipient amount rather than the fee line, because the rate markup is where the real difference shows. Check the provider's current fee schedule and limits for your corridor before you send.
4.0/ 5 - AffirmproductivityOct 12, 2026
Affirm Review 2026: BNPL Rates and Real Costs
Affirm is the clearest-disclosing BNPL product on the market: Pay in 4 is 0% APR per the fee schedule, and monthly plans show their APR and total cost before you agree. Its weakness is the 0-36% APR ceiling on larger carts, where an interest-bearing plan may be the only option offered. Rating 4.0 out of 5.
4.0/ 5