Skip to content
▌beetlix/nest
← All reviews

Greenlight Debit Card Review 2026: Fees, Pros & Cons

4.2/ 5
Arif AriyanReviewed by Arif Ariyan · Senior Software Engineer ·
Greenlight Debit Card Review 2026: Fees, Pros & Cons

Greenlight is a debit card and money app for kids, funded by parents. The parent holds the account. The child holds the card. The Greenlight app handles allowance, chores, savings goals, and spending rules. The product is a family plan, not a single card: one parent account manages multiple children, each with their own card, balance, and limits.

The card is a standard debit card. It works in stores and online. The difference from a normal bank card is the control layer. Parents see every transaction, set limits per category, and turn the card on and off. That control dashboard is the main reason families pay for Greenlight instead of using a free prepaid card.

What Is the Greenlight Debit Card?

Greenlight is a debit card for kids and teens. Parents add money from their own bank account. The child spends from that balance. The Greenlight app is the hub: allowance, chores, savings goals, and spending limits all live there.

The product is sold as a family plan. One parent account, multiple child cards. Each child gets their own balance and their own set of rules. The parent decides how much money goes in, where the card works, and what the child can buy. The provider describes the parent as the funder and the child as the spender.

Greenlight is not a bank account in the traditional sense. It is a spending tool with training wheels. The parent keeps control. The child learns to manage a balance. For families that want that structure, Greenlight is one of the most complete options.

How Greenlight Works

Setup

Setup starts in the parent app. The parent creates a family account, adds each child, and orders cards. Money is linked from the parent's bank account. The provider's disclosures describe the flow: parent adds money, money lands in the child's balance, the child spends.

The parent app is the control center. The child app is the spending view. The child sees their balance, their allowance, and their savings goals. The parent sees everything the child sees, plus the controls.

Parent Controls

The parent dashboard is the core feature. The parent can set spending limits per category. The parent can block spending at certain stores. The parent can turn the card off entirely. Every transaction sends an instant notification to the parent.

That notification layer is the safety feature. A child buys something, the parent knows immediately. A parent can react fast if something looks wrong. For younger kids, that visibility is the main reason to pay for the product.

Allowance, Chores, and Savings

Greenlight includes tools for allowance and chores. The parent sets a weekly allowance. The parent assigns chores and pays for them. The child sees the money arrive and can move it into savings goals.

The savings feature is simple: the child sets a target, and money moves toward it. The parent can add an interest payment on the child's savings. That interest is a cost the parent chooses to pay, not a surprise fee.

Investing

Greenlight includes an investing feature on the higher plans. The parent approves trades. The child picks from a list of options and learns how markets move. The investing feature is a teaching tool, not a full brokerage. The parent controls what the child can buy.

Greenlight Plans and Pricing in 2026

Greenlight sells three plans. The provider's pricing page lists three monthly prices: $4.99, $6.98, and $9.98 per month. The prices changed in 2025 and are current as of 2026. There is no annual fee. The monthly price is the monthly price.

The base plan covers the core card and the parental controls. The middle plan adds more features. The top plan adds the most, including the investing feature. The exact feature split per tier is on the provider's current pricing page. Do not assume the cheapest plan includes everything.

For a family with one child, the base plan is the entry point. For a family with multiple children, the higher plans may make more sense. The provider's pricing page shows the full breakdown. Check it before committing.

Greenlight Debit Card Fees That Aren't Obvious

The monthly plan is the headline price. It is not the only cost. The provider's fee schedule lists several other fees. None of them appear in the monthly price.

ATM fees. The card works at ATMs, but the fee schedule lists a charge for ATM use. The amount depends on the schedule. Check the provider's current schedule before letting a child use an ATM.

Replacement card fees. Lose the card and a new one costs money. The fee schedule lists a replacement fee. The amount is not stated here. Check the current schedule.

Foreign transaction fees. Use the card outside the country and a fee applies. The fee schedule lists it. The amount is not stated here. Check the current schedule.

Interest on parent-paid amounts. The parent can set an interest rate on the child's savings. The parent pays that interest. It is a voluntary cost, but it is a cost. The parent chooses the rate.

These fees are not unique to Greenlight. GoHenry has a similar structure: a monthly fee plus add-on fees. The GoHenry review covers the details. The lesson is the same for both: read the fee schedule, not just the plan price.

Greenlight vs GoHenry vs FamZoo

FeatureGreenlightGoHenryFamZoo
Monthly price$4.99 to $9.98Check current scheduleCheck current schedule
Age rangeKids and teensKids and teensKids and teens
Parent controlsStrong, per-category limitsStrongStrong
InvestingYes, on higher plansNoNo
Customer supportApp-basedApp-basedApp-based

Greenlight and GoHenry are the two most common choices. The full comparison breaks down the differences. The short version: Greenlight adds investing, GoHenry does not. GoHenry's fee schedule is separate, so check it.

FamZoo is the older, more manual option. It has strong controls but no investing. The FamZoo tool page covers its structure. For most families, Greenlight and GoHenry are the two to compare.

Pros and Cons of Greenlight in 2026

Pros

  • Parental control dashboard. Per-category limits, instant alerts, card on and off. This is the strongest feature and the main differentiator.
  • Financial literacy tools. Allowance, chores, savings goals. The child learns to manage a balance.
  • Investing for teens. The higher plans include investing with parent approval. A rare feature in this category.
  • No annual fee. Plans start at $4.99 per month. The monthly price is the monthly price.

Cons

  • Monthly cost. No free tier. A family with one child pays the same as a family with three.
  • No credit building. A debit card does not report to credit bureaus. Older teens do not build credit with Greenlight.
  • No direct deposit for kids. A teen with a job cannot receive a paycheck into the card. That limits the product for older users.

Who Should Get Greenlight? Who Should Skip?

Greenlight fits families with young kids who are learning to spend. The parent wants full visibility. The dashboard, the allowance tools, and the instant alerts make it a teaching tool, not just a card. For that family, the monthly fee is the price of control.

Greenlight fits families who want investing for their kids. The investing feature is rare in this category. A parent who wants a child to learn markets has few options, and Greenlight is one of them.

Skip Greenlight if the child is an older teen who needs a real account. No credit building. No direct deposit. A teen with a job needs a different product.

Skip it if the monthly fee is a problem. Free options exist. Step and Current are free alternatives. They do not have Greenlight's parental controls, but they cost nothing. For a family that just wants a card, free wins.

How This Review Was Researched

This review uses the provider's own materials: the official pricing page, the fee schedule, and the disclosures. It also draws on public sources, including the Consumer Financial Protection Bureau complaint database and app store ratings. No account was opened for this review. No fees were paid. All figures come from the provider's published schedule.

The scoring criteria are on the methodology page. Fees, features, safety, and ease of use are the four categories. Each product is scored against its own published materials.

FAQ

How much does Greenlight cost per month?

The provider's pricing page lists three plans: $4.99, $6.98, and $9.98 per month. Prices changed in 2025 and are current as of 2026. There is no annual fee.

Can my child invest with Greenlight?

Yes. The higher plans include an investing feature. The parent approves trades. The child learns with a small balance.

Does Greenlight build credit?

No. Greenlight is a debit card. Debit cards do not report to credit bureaus. A teen who needs credit building should use a different product.

What works

  • Parental control dashboard is the strongest differentiator: per-category limits, instant alerts, card on and off
  • Built-in financial literacy tools: allowance, chores, savings goals
  • Investing feature on higher plans, with parent approval
  • No annual fee; plans start at $4.99 per month

What doesn't

  • Monthly fee with no free tier; one child costs the same as three
  • No credit building for older teens
  • No direct deposit for kids with jobs
  • Add-on fees like ATM and replacement cards are not in the monthly price

The verdict

Greenlight is the strongest parent-controlled debit card for families who want full visibility into a child's spending, and the investing feature sets it apart from GoHenry and FamZoo. The monthly cost and the missing credit-building and direct-deposit features make it a poor fit for older teens who need a real account. Read the current fee schedule before committing, since ATM and replacement card fees sit outside the monthly price.

FAQ

How much does Greenlight cost per month?
The provider's pricing page lists three plans at $4.99, $6.98, and $9.98 per month. Prices changed in 2025 and are current as of 2026. There is no annual fee.
Can my child invest with Greenlight?
Yes. The higher plans include an investing feature. The parent approves trades, and the child learns with a small balance.
Does Greenlight build credit?
No. Greenlight is a debit card, and debit cards do not report to credit bureaus. A teen who needs credit building should use a different product.