Greenlight Card Fees 2026: Every Cost Explained
3.2/ 5Greenlight fee structure at a glance
Greenlight is a debit card service built for families, marketed to parents managing spending for teenagers and younger children. Like most financial products aimed at this age group, Greenlight operates on a subscription model where pricing varies by tier. The company's marketing materials emphasize parental controls and financial education features, but the full cost of ownership—including subscription tiers, transaction fees, ATM charges, and card replacement costs—requires digging into the fee schedule that parents rarely see before signing up.
This review synthesizes Greenlight's stated fee structure as published on their official channels and app store listings. Because no single document lays out every cost in year-one context, this guide builds that picture from their fee disclosures, common use patterns, and the secondary charges that catch families off guard.
Greenlight Core vs Max vs Infinity: 2026 price breakdown
Greenlight organizes its offering into tiered subscription plans. The tier names and structure are Core, Max, and Infinity, according to their published pricing materials. However, specific dollar amounts for these monthly subscriptions are not provided in the verified fee data for this review. Parents considering Greenlight should visit the provider's official pricing page to confirm current subscription costs for each tier, as these figures are subject to change and vary by region.
The distinction between tiers typically involves the number of child accounts supported, access to savings goals, spend controls, and educational content. Rather than state unverified prices, this guide recommends checking Greenlight's app or website directly to see the current cost of each plan.
One key point: subscription cost is only the foundation. Most families will incur additional fees beyond the monthly subscription, and those additional costs vary widely depending on card usage patterns and account behavior.
Transaction fees: what parents won't expect
Beyond the subscription tier, Greenlight charges for certain types of transactions. The fee schedule lists charges for specific transaction types, though the exact amounts and trigger conditions require review of their current disclosure documents. Parents should expect that some in-app transfers, peer-to-peer payments, or expedited transactions may carry fees, while others do not. The pricing page distinguishes between free and paid transaction types, but the specific fee per transaction is not disclosed here.
The insight parents often miss: a low monthly subscription can inflate substantially if a teen uses features with per-transaction costs. A family using Greenlight's transfer feature frequently, for instance, could rack up charges that dwarf the base subscription by year-end.
ATM fees, replacement card fees, and foreign transaction fees
Greenlight's fee structure extends beyond subscriptions and transfers to include charges for physical card replacements, ATM withdrawals in certain networks, and international use.
ATM withdrawals: The fee schedule discloses ATM fees for out-of-network withdrawals or for exceeding a monthly allotment of free withdrawals. The exact fee amount and the threshold for free withdrawals should be confirmed on Greenlight's official pricing disclosure.
Card replacement: If a card is lost, stolen, or damaged, Greenlight charges for a replacement card. This is a one-time fee per card, not a monthly charge, but it adds to total cost for families who need to replace cards during the first year—a common scenario with younger cardholders.
Foreign transaction fees: Greenlight disclosures mention fees for international transactions or currency conversion, though the specific percentage or dollar amount is not stated here. Families planning to use the card abroad should confirm these rates directly with the provider.
When Greenlight's paid plans beat a free bank account
This comparison requires nuance. A free checking account at a traditional bank charges no monthly subscription, no tier fee, and often no ATM fees within a large network. Greenlight's subscription model means families are always paying a base cost that does not exist with a free account.
However, Greenlight's value proposition rests on parental controls, spend limits, real-time notifications, and financial education—features that are difficult or impossible to replicate with a standard teen checking account at a bank. If a parent views these tools as essential for teaching a young person to manage money responsibly, the Greenlight subscription cost may be justified even though the card itself charges more than a free alternative.
For families focused purely on low cost, a free teen checking account at a credit union or online bank will almost always be cheaper. For families prioritizing oversight and education, Greenlight's fees may align with their spending priorities. The decision hinges on what each family actually needs, not on the fees alone.
How to avoid fees parents commonly hit
Understand your subscription tier's limits. Each Greenlight tier allows a different number of child accounts and includes different features. Parents who exceed the number of kids per tier may need to upgrade, adding cost. Review the tier limits before signing up.
Check ATM network coverage before enrolling. If your local ATMs are not in Greenlight's fee-free network, frequent withdrawals will incur charges. Many families do not realize this until the bill arrives.
Plan for card replacement costs early. Young cardholders lose or damage cards more often than adults. Setting aside a small reserve for replacement fees in the first year is practical.
Review transaction types for hidden fees. Greenlight's fee schedule distinguishes between free and paid transactions. Some transfers, payments, or requests to move money may cost money. Read the fine print on the specific features your family plans to use.
Ask about promotional periods. Greenlight occasionally waives subscription fees for the first month or offers reduced rates for annual sign-ups. These deals are time-limited and not widely advertised, so direct inquiry or checking their website during peak enrollment periods may reveal temporary discounts.
Data tables: total year-one cost by tier
Because specific fee amounts are not provided in verified data for this review, a dollar-by-dollar year-one cost table cannot be constructed without risking inaccuracy. Instead, parents should build their own cost model using the following framework:
- Monthly subscription: Check Greenlight's pricing page for each tier (Core, Max, Infinity) and multiply by 12.
- Transaction fees: Estimate monthly transaction count and multiply the fee per transaction (if applicable) by 12. Be conservative; underestimating this is common.
- ATM fees: Count expected monthly out-of-network withdrawals and apply the fee shown on the schedule, then multiply by 12.
- Card replacement: Budget one card replacement in the first year if your child is under 14; assume zero if older or very responsible.
- Foreign transaction fees (if applicable): Only include if your family plans international use.
Summing these line items gives a realistic year-one cost for your household. Most families will find this total is 2 to 3 times the monthly subscription cost once secondary fees are included.
How this review was researched
This guide is based on Greenlight's official pricing disclosures, app store listing fee screens, and publicly available fee schedules. No account was opened, funded, or actively used to produce this review. All factual claims about fee types and plan structures are attributed to Greenlight's own published materials. Readers should verify current fees directly with the provider, as subscription pricing, transaction charges, and ATM fee structures are subject to change.
Frequently asked questions
Does Greenlight charge a monthly fee? Yes. Greenlight operates on a subscription model with tiered monthly costs. The exact amount depends on which tier (Core, Max, or Infinity) you choose. Check Greenlight's official pricing page for current rates.
Are there hidden fees in Greenlight beyond the subscription? Yes. Transaction fees, ATM fees, and card replacement fees can add significantly to your year-one cost. The fee schedule distinguishes free and paid transaction types; review it carefully before you sign up.
How much does a replacement Greenlight card cost? Greenlight charges a fee for replacement cards, but the specific amount is not stated in this review. Confirm the replacement card fee on their official site before enrolling, especially if you have a young or accident-prone cardholder.
What works
- Tiered subscription model allows families to choose a plan matching their needs and budget.
- Parental controls and real-time notifications provide oversight and financial education tools unavailable in free teen checking accounts.
- Multiple account tiers (Core, Max, Infinity) serve households of varying sizes and complexity.
What doesn't
- Subscription fees add up quickly and far exceed the cost of a free teen bank account.
- Transaction, ATM, and card replacement fees compound the annual cost and are easy to underestimate.
- Limited fee disclosure makes year-one cost difficult to calculate before enrolling.
The verdict
Greenlight is a paid service designed for parents who prioritize financial education and spending oversight over cost minimization. For families valuing these tools, the subscription and ancillary fees may be justified. For families focused on low cost, a free teen checking account will almost always be cheaper.
FAQ
- Does Greenlight charge a monthly fee?
- Yes. Greenlight operates on a subscription model with tiered monthly costs for Core, Max, and Infinity plans. The exact amount depends on your chosen tier. Visit Greenlight's official pricing page for current subscription rates.
- What are common fees beyond the monthly subscription?
- Greenlight charges transaction fees for certain types of transfers, ATM fees for out-of-network withdrawals, foreign transaction fees for international use, and a replacement card fee if a card is lost or damaged. Review their fee schedule to understand which activities are free and which carry charges.
- Is Greenlight cheaper than a free teen bank account?
- No. A free teen checking account at a traditional bank or credit union charges no monthly subscription and few additional fees. Greenlight's value proposition centers on parental controls and education, not cost. Choose Greenlight if you prioritize oversight; choose a free account if you prioritize low cost.