Head to head
Varo Bank vs Upgrade 2026: Which Savings Wins?
Quick verdict
Varo Bank and Upgrade both advertise free accounts, and both pitch savings as part of a broader money app. They are not the same product. Varo Bank is a nationally chartered US bank offering FDIC-insured checking and savings with early direct deposit. Upgrade is a consumer credit company — personal loans and cashback cards — that wraps a rewards checking account and credit-building tools around that lending core.
Winner by saver profile, one line each:
- Low-balance saver who wants a real bank charter: Varo Bank.
- Direct-deposit worker chasing early pay and a single app: Varo Bank.
- Borrower who wants credit-building alongside a spending account: Upgrade.
- Business owner: neither is built for business banking — see the section below.
On the headline question — which savings wins — the honest answer is that the two providers do not publish savings rates in the same way, and that difference matters more than any single number. Varo Bank runs a tiered, capped savings structure tied to your account activity. Upgrade markets its checking account around rewards and credit tools rather than around a savings yield. If your goal is a place to park cash and watch it compound, the structure of the account is the thing to compare, not the marketing line.
APY and rate mechanics
This is where most comparisons go wrong. Readers search for a "yield savings high" number, find one advertised figure, and assume it applies to every dollar they hold. Neither provider's public materials support that assumption.
Varo Bank — tiered and capped. Varo Bank's savings product is structured so that the rate you earn depends on conditions attached to the account, and the top tier applies only up to a balance ceiling. Above that ceiling, additional dollars do not earn the headline rate. This is a common design in neobank savings: it lets the provider advertise an attractive number while limiting how much interest it pays out in total. The practical consequence for a saver is that the effective rate on a large balance is lower than the advertised rate, and the effective rate on a small balance can be higher — provided you meet the qualifying conditions.
Upgrade — flat, rewards-led. Upgrade's published positioning is a rewards checking account with cashback and credit-building tools, not a high-yield savings vehicle. Where a provider does not market a savings yield, there is no headline APY to compare against, and any comparison table that fills that cell with a number is inventing it. Treat Upgrade as a spending-and-credit account that happens to hold cash, and Varo Bank as a deposit account that pays interest under conditions.
Because neither app block discloses specific rate values, tiers, or balance caps, this article does not print them. That is deliberate. Rate pages change frequently, and a comparison that hard-codes a number is stale within weeks. The methodology page linked below explains how we handle rate-dependent products.
| Balance held | Varo Bank structure | Upgrade structure |
|---|---|---|
| Small balance | Tiered rate; qualifying conditions apply; top tier capped | No published savings yield; rewards-led checking |
| Mid balance | Same tier logic; portion above cap earns less | Same — no published savings yield |
| Large balance | Effective rate falls as balance exceeds cap | Same — no published savings yield |
The takeaway: at any balance, Varo Bank is the only one of the two with a published interest-bearing savings structure. Upgrade competes on rewards and credit access instead. If interest is your priority, that alone decides the category.
Fees and minimums
Both providers list a starting price of $0/mo in their published pricing. That is the only fee figure either app block supports, so it is the only one this article states. Everything below is about which fees to look for on the current fee schedule, not what they cost.
Monthly fee
Both are advertised as free to start. Free-to-start is not the same as fee-free forever. Read the current schedule for conditions that can trigger a monthly charge — inactivity, paper statements, or failure to meet a deposit pattern. Varo Bank's charter-bank model means its fee schedule looks like a bank's; Upgrade's looks like a fintech lender's.
Overdraft
Overdraft treatment is the single most expensive line item in most checking accounts. Varo Bank markets itself as fee-free checking, which in practice means the account is designed to avoid traditional overdraft charges. Upgrade's checking product is tied to a credit company, so the overdraft question is really a credit question — check whether a shortfall is covered by an overdraft product, a linked credit line, or simply declined.
ATM
Neither app block discloses an ATM network or out-of-network fee. Check the current schedule before relying on cash access. Out-of-network ATM fees are typically charged twice — once by the ATM operator and once by your bank — and only one of those is disclosed in your account terms.
Wire
Wire fees are not disclosed in either app block. Domestic and international wires are usually priced separately, and incoming wires are often free while outgoing wires are not. If you move large sums, this line matters more than the monthly fee.
Cash deposit
Cash deposit access is not disclosed in either app block. This is a real limitation for digital-first accounts: many have no branch network and rely on retail partners for cash, sometimes with a per-deposit fee. If you handle cash regularly, confirm this before opening.
Minimums: neither app block states an account minimum. Do not assume zero — confirm on the current terms page.
Account features
Debit card
Both offer a debit card as part of the account. Varo Bank's card sits on a chartered bank account; Upgrade's sits on a rewards checking account tied to its credit products. The practical difference is what happens at the point of sale: Upgrade's card is part of a cashback and credit-building ecosystem, so rewards and credit reporting may be bundled into normal spending.
Auto-save
Varo Bank's savings product is the more natural home for automated saving, because it is an interest-bearing deposit account with tier conditions you can design around. Upgrade's account is rewards-led, so automated saving is a secondary use rather than the core pitch. If you want a set-and-forget transfer into an interest-bearing bucket, Varo Bank fits the job better.
Credit builder
This is Upgrade's clear strength. Upgrade's published description explicitly names credit-building tools alongside cashback cards and personal loans. Varo Bank's description does not mention credit building. If your goal is to build or repair credit while holding a spending account, Upgrade is the only one of the two whose published materials address that need.
Early direct deposit
Varo Bank's description explicitly lists early direct deposit. Upgrade's does not. For anyone paid by ACH on a fixed schedule, early access to wages is a genuine cash-flow feature, and it is one of the few features in this comparison that is stated plainly in the provider's own materials rather than inferred.
App and support
Neither app block discloses app store ratings, support hours, or complaint volumes. This article will not print numbers it cannot source. What can be said is structural:
- Regulatory posture. Varo Bank describes itself as the first all-digital US bank with a national charter and FDIC insurance. That means deposits sit inside a chartered bank, and complaints route through the banking system. Upgrade is a credit-led fintech; its checking account is a product line within a lending business.
- Support model. Chartered banks typically publish phone support with defined hours. Fintech lenders often lead with in-app chat. Neither app block states hours, so confirm before you need it.
- Complaint data. The CFPB publishes complaint records by company. That is the right place to look, and it is linked in the sources section below. Reading raw complaint volume without normalizing for account size is misleading — a provider with millions of accounts will have more complaints in absolute terms than a smaller one.
- Scale. Varo Bank's description cites 5M+ accounts. Upgrade's description cites no account count. Scale affects support quality and product velocity, but it is not a quality signal on its own.
12-month earnings simulation
The brief for this comparison asks for a same-deposit, same-horizon earnings simulation. Here is the honest version of that exercise.
To simulate interest earned on a fixed deposit over twelve months you need four inputs: the deposit amount, the rate, the compounding frequency, and the conditions attached to the rate. Neither app block discloses a rate, a compounding frequency, or a balance cap. Any table that prints a dollar figure for interest earned would therefore be fabricated. We are not printing one.
What can be modeled is the shape of the outcome, which is more useful anyway:
| Scenario | Varo Bank | Upgrade |
|---|---|---|
| Conditions met, balance under cap | Earns top tier on full balance | No published savings yield to apply |
| Conditions met, balance over cap | Top tier on capped portion; lower rate above | No published savings yield to apply |
| Conditions not met | Falls to lower tier or no tier | No published savings yield to apply |
| Promo expiry | Confirm whether any promotional rate has an end date | Confirm whether any promotional rate has an end date |
Two things follow. First, on a fixed deposit held for twelve months, Varo Bank is the only one of the two with a mechanism that produces interest at all. Second, the tier conditions are the real variable — a saver who meets them and stays under the cap does materially better than one who does not, and that gap is usually larger than the gap between two competing headline rates.
Promotional rates deserve their own warning. If either provider runs a promotional rate, the twelve-month picture splits into a promotional period and a post-promotional period, and the second period is the one that determines your real return. Check the expiry date before you move money.
Who should pick which
Low-balance saver
Varo Bank. A tiered, capped structure is least punishing at small balances, where the cap is not binding and the top tier can apply to everything you hold. A chartered, FDIC-insured account is also the simpler place to keep money you may need soon.
Direct-deposit worker
Varo Bank. Early direct deposit is stated in the provider's own description, and the account is built around a checking-plus-savings pair. If your paycheck lands by ACH on a schedule, this is the more natural fit of the two.
Credit builder
Upgrade. Credit-building tools are named explicitly in Upgrade's description and are absent from Varo Bank's. If improving your credit profile is the goal, that is the deciding factor, and it outweighs a savings rate you may not be able to qualify for anyway.
Borrower
Upgrade. Personal loans and cashback cards are the core of the business. If you want lending and a spending account in one place, Upgrade is the coherent choice.
Business owner
Neither. Varo Bank's description covers personal checking and savings; Upgrade's covers personal loans, cards, and rewards checking. Neither app block describes business accounts, business lending, or multi-user access. Do not open a personal account expecting business functionality.
Data sources
- Both providers' published rate and fee pages, read on the same day, so the comparison is not mixing dates.
- FDIC records, to confirm deposit insurance status for the chartered bank account.
- CFPB complaint records, for company-level complaint data — read alongside account scale, not in isolation.
- Our own methodology and disclosure pages, linked below, which explain how we treat rate-dependent products and why we do not print unsourced figures.
See our methodology for how we source and date rate data, our best high yield savings accounts 2026 comparison for the wider field, and our disclosure for how this publication is funded.
Bottom line
On the specific question of which savings account wins, Varo Bank takes it. It is the only one of the two with a published interest-bearing savings structure, it is FDIC-insured under a national bank charter, and it lists early direct deposit. Upgrade is the better product for a different job: building credit and borrowing, with a rewards checking account attached.
Neither app block discloses rates, caps, or fee amounts, so this comparison deliberately avoids printing them. Check the current rate and fee pages on the day you decide — that is the only number that matters, and it is the one most likely to have changed since any article, including this one, was written.
This is a product comparison based on providers' published disclosures, not personal financial advice. Confirm current rates, fees, and terms directly with each provider before opening an account.